Lemon, Roast Garlic and Coriander Hummus

Hummus or Houmous is the best dip in the world. Apparently a serving is about a heaped teaspoon, but we all know that one tub = one portion, right?

Hummusoncracker

There have been many incarnations of hummus lately, roasted red pepper, caramelized onion, beetroot, carrot etc.

“Moroccan houmous” always made me laugh – hummus is a pretty big feature in north African and middle-eastern cooking! That being said, when I was in Morocco a couple of years ago, not that many places had it on their menus. I had expected to live off the stuff for the few weeks I was there. Just like a camel can store water for 40 days… I figured I’d eat my weight in hummus to sustain the fix for when I returned to Ireland, with what I thought would have been far superior cue buzzwords such as ‘authentic’ genuine’ hummus.

You can purchase hummus really cheaply in almost all shops, so why bother making your own eh?

chickpeas

Self-satisfaction more than anything – not going to lie!

Ahno, there’s a lot to be said for knowing what ingredients go into your own food, and adapting things to your taste.

Enter – yummy homemade hummus

CUHummus

I made mine with loads of lemon & coriander.

citrusfruits

I roasted the garlic (6 cloves) the day before, but you could do it up to 3 days before making, whenever the oven is on really. Roasting garlic makes it sweeter and milder, and as a) I hadn’t made hummus before  and b) I love garlic, the possibilities of underestimating the power of a raw garlic clove in my dip could have potential to be a disaster. I would say 1-2 cloves of raw garlic would be more than sufficient if you don’t roast the cloves.

garlic cu

Please do drop by because I made enough for 20 people.

Note: I didn’t realise hummus would freeze – but it does! Because with the over-abundance of hummus at my disposable, I didn’t have many other options! It is worth noting that I don’t think it would freeze as well (or at all) with a very fine, smooth hummus – or bought hummus. Try it if you like it, but really any chance of making it inedible isn’t worth the risk IMO.

sesameseedpack

So chunky-ish hummus is a buzz, and a welcome change to the completely smooth versions populating shelves everywhere.

I tried to make this in my smoothie blender (which you can read about here) but it wasn’t having any of it, probably due to the slight cloying texture of mushed chickpeas.

Enter: the humble pestle & mortar.

Completeshot

Easily the best way to make hummus, you can work In batches depending on the size you own – or use a food processor. If you have neither piece of equipment at your disposable, a potato masher on the chickpeas should work and then just combine all ingredients in a large bowl.

If you don’t want to make your own tahini – feel free to buy some. I was curious to try making it, as I have seen it listed as vegan mayo alternatives, but after making my own I’m at a loss to understand how that would work.

CUsesameseeds

I lightly toasted the sesame seeds & blended them with rapeseed oil – which left me with an amazing ochre silken liquid, but the taste was acquired to say the least.. extremely nutty by itself whilst also being quite rich.

Tahini

But combined with everything else, this hummus turned out brilliantly! I made it around my birthday, safe in the knowledge that I would have people to help me eat it, and everyone loved it.

Plate


Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • ½ bunch of coriander – finely chopped, some stalks included
  • 6 cloves garlic, roasted
  • 1 x jar tahini or make your own
  • 1 large lemon, juiced
  • generous pinch of salt & black pepper (may need more salt to bring out flavours)
  • 2 x tins chickpeas, drained
  • rapeseed oil

 Method:

  1. roast the garlic in the oven for 15/20 mins at 180
  2. crush chickpeas – in blender, pestle & mortar or with potato masher
  3. once they’re fairly smooth, add in lemon juice and tahini
  4. chop garlic as fine as possible and add through the mix
  5. add the rapeseed oil until it’s just loosened enough to spread
  6. enjooyyyyy

 


Uses:

Do you really need to ask? Enjoy with vegetable sticks, crackers, warm pitta bread

cuoncracker

  • Top white fish and bake in the oven
  • Smear on sourdough toast & add leaves, sprinkles of seeds and some diced tomato
  • Use as a dip for roast vegetable or meat skewers
  • Use in place of mayonnaise in sandwiches/wraps
  • Eat with falafel and salad
Leave a Reply

